30 Day Minimalism Challenge: Week 2

So, I have to be honest, this week I wasn’t as dedicated to the challenge as I was last week (check out that post here). I had a lot of other stuff going on and most of the time it slipped my mind. So, to find out how badly I messed up and what I learnt, keep on reading

Day 8: Learn to Enjoy Solitude

I am somewhat disappointed to say that I did not manage to complete today’s challenge. I was at a conference all day, so I wasn’t able to spend any time in solitude. However, I will try to spend more time in solitude through out the rest of this challenge to try to make up for missing today.

Day 9: Downsize Your Beauty Collection

I am on a roll for this week. And by I roll, I am absolutely failing. For me, I have a hard time getting rid of my makeup, so when I read that the only makeup I should keep are the products I use regularly, I knew today wouldn’t be a success. I write a lot about makeup, so I can’t reduce my collection or I will have nothing to write about. On the other hand, I cleaned out a bunch of my lip products around two weeks ago, so I think that somewhat counts. Right?

Day 10: No Email or Social Media Until Lunch

This one wasn’t too hard. It was nice to focus more on the world around me than the world in my phone. However, I didn’t feel like I had some epiphany or anything. While I believe in spending more time on social media, I was kind of disappointed that I didn’t feel any lighter or more connected to the world or anything along those lines.

Day 11: Evaluate Your Commitments

Over the past few months, I have reduced my commitments, deciding to focus more on the ones I really want, or have to do. Therefore, I didn’t have too much to evaluate. My main commitments are my education, this blog, and my friends. So, I really didn’t evaluate anything because I wasn’t getting rid of any of those commitments.

Day 12: Define Your Goals For The Year

My goal for this year is to become more healthy (I know it is really generic). I consider myself I rather healthy person (I mean, my favourite food is a kale salad and I love green juice) but I am not very good at saying no to my cravings for sweets and I want to be more motivated to go to the gym. I don’t want to be too specific with my goal. All I want to do it end 2016 feeling slightly healthier and to continue being healthy after 2016 comes to an end (I can’t believe I am already talking about the end of 2016).

Day 13: Clean Your Closet

If you go to Into-Mind.com, which is where this challenge is from, it says to set aside an entire afternoon to clean out your closet. Instead, I set aside 30 minutes. I had already sorted through all my clothes about two weeks ago, so I didn’t go through them. I used this time to hang up clothes that have been sitting on the back of my chair for a week and to clean out the floor of my closet, which has been my dumping ground for stuff that doesn’t have a place yet. I thought, that while I didn’t fully clean out my closet, this was actually quite productive and I probably wouldn’t have gotten around to doing it otherwise.

Day 14: Take a Step Toward Learning a New Skill

If by taking a step, it means deciding on what new skill to learn, that I get a golden star for today. However, if it means actually start learning the skill or signing up for lessons or something else more permanent, than I can say goodbye to that gold star. I decided I wanted to learn how to code an app in iOS. I know a the different coding languages, such as HTML and CSS, but I felt as though iOS would be a good next language. I did a bit of research and found a few good sites that teach the language, but I haven’t actually started yet.

Have you been taking the challenge? How are you doing? Let me know in the comments below!

 

Tell Me What You Think!

