Unpopular Opinion Book Tag

So, books are something I haven’t talked about on this blog before but, for those of you who don’t know, I love books. Reading is probably one of my favourite past times. So, when I stumbled upon this tag, I decided I give it a go.

1. A Popular Book or Series That You Did Not Like

I had to think about this one but it actually happens to be the last book I read. It is… Half Bad by Sally Green. I had heard amazing things about this book, so when I got it as a gift, I was very excited. I started off reading this book with high expectations, and honestly, those expectations weren’t meet. The book was ok but I was expecting something incredible. Also, it was kind of boring; I expected a lot more action then there was.

2. A Popular Book or Series That Everyone Seems To Hate But You Love

I haven’t read that many books that everyone seems to hate. Mainly because if I hear bad things about a book, I am not as inclined to read it. Therefore, the book I choose not everyone seems to hate but it is controversial on if it was good or bad. The book is… Allegiant by Veronica Roth. This is the third in the Divergent series and, although it isn’t my favourite book, it had me in tears at the end (not many books make me cry).

3. A Love Triangle Where The Main Character Did Not End Up With The Person You Wanted Them To

I am not the biggest fan of love triangles. I don’t really invest myself into them like some of my friends do. But, with that being said, the book I chose is… Zodiac by Romani Russel. Although the series isn’t over, so the main character, Rho, hasn’t actually ended up with anyone yet, I am rooting for Matthias over Hysan.

4. A Popular Book Genre You Hardly Ever Reach For

I am one of those people who read, and love, basically ever genre. However, the one I reach for the least often is either Vampires or Zombies. The entire Twilight vampire thing doesn’t interest me. As for zombies, I love a small handful of zombie books, but other then that, the walking dead aren’t up my alley.

5. A Popular or Beloved Character You Did Not Like

Going back to question 2, my character is from the Divergent Series. It is… Four. I was all about the girl power in these books but the love interest, not so much. I have no actually reason for not liking him, I just don’t.

6. A Popular Author You Could Not Seem to Get Into

I feel bad saying this because I have heard amazing things about this author, so it pains me to say I don’t like their writing. The author I am talking about is… Laurie Halse Anderson. I read her book Speak and I did not enjoy it. I heard it was supposed to be extremely moving but I had no emotional attachment to this book.

7. A Popular Book Trope You Are Tired of Seeing

I am very passionate about this. This very specific trope has been in a lot of major books recently. It is Futuristic Books Where They Live in A Divided Society and There is A Rebellion. If you have no clue what I am talking about, let me just list a few. Divergent by Veronica Roth. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Pawn by Aimee Carter. The Selection by Kiera Cass. Legend by Marie Lu. I am not, by any stretch of the imagination saying these books aren’t bad, because I adore most of them. I just think it is time to switch it up.

8. A Popular Series You Have No Interest in Reading

This one is easy for me. It would be… Pretty Little Liars by Sarah Sheppard. I love the show. It is truly amazing. But I have no interest what so ever in reading the books.

9. The Saying Goes “The Book is Always Better Than The Movie,” But What Movie or T.V. Show Adaptation Do You Prefer More Than The Book?

When ever I talk about this series, I say “the first one was good. The second ok. And the third was awful.” The series I am talking about is The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Honestly, I love Katniss. She is smart, strong and empowering. But I didn’t like the writing in these books. However, I did really like the first few movies.

Quick disclaimer before I end this post. I didn’t mean to upset anyone with my opinions because they are just that, an opinion.

What are your opinions? Let me know in the comments below!

 

One thought on “Unpopular Opinion Book Tag

  1. This tag was great! Totally agree with you about the vampires/zombies thing- it just does not interest me at all! Thanks for doing this tag! I’m definitely gonna try it out myself 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Tell Me What You Think!

